Police AssociAtion of novA scotiA 111 Bullying Awareness 40th Annua l Cr ime Preven t i on Gu i de 2010 PANS Media Release The province is taking steps to protect children and youth online. Education Minister Ramona Jennex announced today, May 25, that Wayne MacKay, professor at Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University, will chair the task force examining cyberbullying and develop recommendations. "I feel we have an obligation to bring people together to find solutions around cyberbullying," said Ms. Jennex. "Since we announced the formation of the task force, we have received a tremendous amount of support from Nova Scotians who want to be involved. "I thank Mr. MacKay and the entire task force team for their willingness to find ways to protect youth from the harmful effects cyberbullying can have." Mr. MacKay has had a distinguished career as a university administrator, legal scholar, teacher, and constitutional and human rights expert. He has served as president and vice-Chancellor of Mount Allison University, and advisor to governments, national agencies and tribunals on Canadian diversity issues, constitutional issues, and civil rights and human rights initiatives. In June 2005 he was appointed a member of the Order of Canada. "Few issues in schools have gripped the public imagination more than bullying and the tragic consequences for the victims of bullying in all its forms, including cyberbullying," said Mr. MacKay. "I am honoured to take on this important task and hope to identify pragmatic and effective responses to this real and growing problem in our society." The Cyberbullying Task Force, which will report to the Minister of Education in December, consists of five members including Mr. MacKay, Mat Whynott, Ministerial Assistant for Youth, Rola AbiHanna, Department of Education guidance consultant, Wendy MacGregor, a parent from Halifax, and Breanna Fitzgerald, a Grade 12 student from New Waterford. The task force will be supported by a 20member task force working group. The working group will focus on four key areas regarding cyberbullying: intervention, education, assessment and policy. Cyberbullying Task Force Chair Announced Department of education May 25, 2011 10:22 AM Media Contact: Peter McLaughlin Department of education 902-424-8286 e-mail: mclaugpx@gov.ns.c